Niko Schauble

Niko (19 of 50).jpg

Niko Schauble is an award winning drummer, composer and audio engineer.


Born in 1962 Niko grew up in a family of musicians, singers, a record producer & lyricist and a famous jazz bassist (Eberhard Weber).  He started to play piano at age 4 and drums at age 11.  His first forays into audio recording were on a 4-track tape machine in the late 1970s.


Niko has performed with many of the world's leading artists including Wynton Marsalis, Lee Konitz, Enrico Rava, Paul Grabowsky, Trilok Gurtu, Karaikudi R. Mani, Arthur Blythe, Deborah Conway, Archie Roach. His work is documented on more than 60 albums.


Niko’s work as composer includes film scores, ballet music and works for small ensemble to symphony orchestra.  He has received commissions from the Australian Art Orchestra, Queensland Festival, Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Jazz Composer’s Orchestra, Berliner Saxophon Quartett, Michael Kieran Harvey and the West Australian Ballet.


Niko has lectured in jazz studies and film music at Monash University and the Victorian College of the Arts, as well as conducting workshops in Berlin and Greece.


2020 - Apra Amcos Nomination (Luminary Award)

2019 - Finalist Apra Amcos Art Music Awards

2016 - Finalist Apra Amcos Awards (Jazz Work of the Year with 'Spiel')

2005 - Finalist at Annecy Film Festival

2004 - Nomination for the 'Leo' award (music for short film) @ Braunschweig Filmfestival

1998 - Finalist at the 'Wildscreen' Festival, Bristol 

1997 - Honorable Mention Julius Hemphil Awards, Ne- York

1996 - 1st and 2nd Prize ‘Tage der leichten Musik’ des SFB, Berlin

1995 - 2nd prize Franz-Josef Reinl Stiftung für ‘Ohne Ende’

1994 - 'Unsigned Bands Competition', Rhythms Magazine, Australian

1992 - Australian Jazz Award/Best Drummer



As a bandleader:
  • "Spiel", with Paul Grabowsky, Jazzhead HEAD209

  • “Es Geht!”, Niko Schauble, BIT 

  • “White Snow–Red Earth”, Portrait CD, BIT 11346

  • On The Other Hand“ (with Paul Grabowsky), Steve Grant and Chris Bekker, Naxos Jazz 86011-2

  • “Night Music” (with Enrico Rava), Origin Records (OR 012)

  • “Ya-It-Ma Thang” Tibetan Dixie (with Arthur Blythe), Timeless Records (SJP 412)

  • - “Nothing Too Serious” Tibetan Dixie, Larrikin Records (LRJ 261)

  • - “Minimal Kidds” (with Gebhard Ullmann, Trilok Gurtu, Glen Moore, u.a.), EMI/Capitol Rec.

  • "Experience" (with Andreas Willers), Nabel Records (Nabel 4665)

  • "Per-Dee-Doo" (with Gebhard Ullmann), Nabel Records (Nabel 4640)

  • Die Elefanten "Wasserwüste", Nabel Records (Nabel 4634)

  • Die Elefanten "Immer Alle Immer Ich", Tropical Music (Nektar 68.926)

  • Out To Lunch featuring Enrico Rava, Nabel Records (Nabel 4632)

  • Out To Lunch "Out To Lunch", Nabel Records (Nabel 4623)

  • Opus Pocus "Opus Pocus", CD K&M Musikverlag (CKM 018)

As Composer/Arranger:
  • Berlin Jazz Composer’s Orchestra “Live 30”, Bellheim 11839

  • Berlin Jazz Composer’s Orchestra Vol I, II & III, Bit Verlag/Sony Music BIT 10396/11027/11147

  • Jugend Jazz Band Charlottenburg “How Rook”, Bit Verlag/Sony Music BIT 11185

  • JayJayBeeCee “20 years”, Bit Verlag/Sony Music BIT

  • Berliner Saxophon Quartett  12 Notes, 4 Musicians and the Blues, BIT 11150

  • Berliner Saxophon Quartett Vol.I + II, Koch Schwann 3-1335-2 & 3-1314-2

As Musician/Composer
  • Adam Simmons TUoA "Zatoczka"

  • Mirko Guerrini "Horizontal Quartet"

  • Radiosuccessi “Genuinely”

  • Yid! “Yid!”

  • Damo “Find Your Feet”, music for children

  • Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier “Everybody’s Begging”

  • Nick Haywood Trio "Many Rivers", JazzHead

  • Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier “Stories of Ghosts”

  • “Torrio!” (Grabowsky/Guerrini/Schauble), Encore Jazz

  • Magnusson/Guerrini/Di Sario/Schauble “Acquacheta”

  • “The Chennai Sessions”, Australian Art Orchestra & Sruthi Laya

  • “Crossing Roper Bar”, Australian Art Orchestra & Wagilak Songmen, Arnhem Land (2009)

  • Paul Grabowsky Trio "Big Adventure", ABC Records 476 283-5

  • "Double Drums Project" (with Tony Buck), BIT 11264

  • Shiner - sound track (as musician) (comp: Paul Grabowsky), Decca 470 183-2

  • "Music for SITA" , AAO records

  • Paul Grabowsky Trio "3", Origin Records OR 058

  • Noah's Arc (movie sound track, comp: Paul Grabowsky), Varese-Sarabande 6027

  • "Mogrinos" (with Leszek Mozdzer), Futurex Records/Poland

  • IQ (movie sound track, comp: Jerry Goldsmith)

  • "TIP" (with Ren Walters, Chris Bekker), Origin Records (OR 017)

  • "Fridays, Late - Live at Bennett's Lane" Jex Saarelaht Trio, (BL 23996)

  • “Doug DeVries”, Newmarket Records (NE- 001)

  • "Cataract" (Sampler of the Hochschule für Musik Berlin), HfM Berlin (HDK 010)

  • "Jazz Sampler Berlin" 1998, ProAvantgarde

  • "Jazz Paintings" (with Christof Griese), BIT

  • "Electric 5" (with Christof Griese), BIT 11176

  • Christof Griese Quartet "New Friends", Jazz4Ever Records (J4E 4736)

  • Christof Griese Quartet "52nd Return", Jazz4Ever Records (J4E 4728)

  • Australian Art Orchestra "Into the Fire", ABC Records 465 705-2

  • Australian Art Orchestra "Passion", ABC Records 465 230-2

  • Australian Art Orchestra "Ringing the Bell Backwards", Origin Records (OR008)

  • Phoenix (music of the TV series, comp.: Paul Grabowsky), ABC Records 514445-2

  • Six Degrees of Separation (movie sound track, comp: Jerry Goldsmith)

  • Last Days of Chez Nous (movie sound track, comp.: Paul Grabowsky), DRG 45099080

  • Paul Grabowsky Sextet "Viva Viva", WEA

  • Paul Grabowsky Sextet "Tee-Vee", East West Records


36/3 Matisi St

Thornbury VIC

Australia 3071


Email: pugman@mac.com
Tel: 0417 512 500

© 2020 Pughouse Studios. Web design by Chris Frangou.